Unexpected

Random blurb of a short story

 

The cafe was buzzing with life. The barista was asking people for orders, a couple of people making coffee were putting on a show for some little kids. My friend was dragging me to go meet this girl he thinks i’ll like, and i’m ok with meeting them but the thing is that i can never love someone, no one can ever get too close to me. I have a secret that i can’t let her know.

“Jack you know I can’t tell her” i said looking at him as we drove towards the cafe

“I know, you don’t have to tell her” he said back

“I don’t know i think mentioning that i’m a serial killer is a BIG turn off for most girls” i said wrapping a string around my finger

“Besides you haven’t really murdered anyone lately so i guess the FBI finally gave up” he said

“Still think this is a waste of time” he said

“Just trust me, your gonna like her. I wouldnt drag you here and listen to your endless complaining if i didn’t think this was going to work” he said pulling into one of the parking spots

“Ugh this is a stupid idea” i said getting out of the car and adjusting my ring on my hand and walking next to Jack

“Just shut up and follow me” he said walking towards the door

“To this day i don’t understand why your friends with me” i said

“Because ur actually a really good person

“All of these little children here, they dont know a monster walks among them” i said smiling at a small child who gave me a goofy grin and waved at me

“If you weren’t so annoying i feel like girls would fall head over heels for you” he said punching me in the shoulder

“So where’s this girl you want me to meet” i said scanning the room

“You tell me… thought it would be a fun game for you to figure it out” he said

“Now your just making this too easy” i said looking around, a bunch of little kids were scribbling on paper, some old people were playing chess, some couples were talking to each other laughing, it looked like a normal day. I start walking with Zack behind me up to this one girl who was writing in a book, she had a hat pulled low over her face as if she was trying to hide from everyone

“Correct” he said looking impressed

“Aw c’mon it isn’t that hard for me to figure this stuff out” I said backing up, letting Zack get the girls attention

“Rebecca” he said to the girl, she finished writing something and looked up

“Zack, i didn’t think you were gonna show up” she said

“This is Aaron” he said nudging me

I looked at her and gave my most convincing smile. She was wearing a hoodie and ripped jeans, her glasses were awkwardly staying on her face as she smiled back

“Nice ring” she said

“Thanks, may i sit down?” i said

“Yea sure” she said moving a book and slipping it back in her bag

“I’ll pick you up later” Zack said as he walked away. Everything seemed to keep moving like nothing interesting was happening, everyone just seemed to be enjoying themselves and laughing, someone was playing a guitar in the back silently, he looked like he was trying to write a song. It smelled like a combination of coffee and cinnamon, the lights seemed to radiate happiness like everything was going to go right for everyone in the room somehow. A bunch of delighted kids laughed as they knocked down the dominos and smiled as all of them fell on the table.

“Most people don’t notice my ring” i said looking at her

“Id think would be one of the first things people notice” she said i looked at one of her pages on her notebook

Leave a comment